The Commission delivers some 30,000 h.p. on the south shore of the St. Lawrence River in the Gaspe area—power temporarily purchased from the Manicouagan Power Company and transmitted across the River through a 69-kv. submarine cable, over a distance of 34 miles. The Commission also purchases about 13,000 h.p. from Saguenay Transmission Company for delivery to mining companies in the Chibougamau area. It is completing the construction of a storage reservoir on the Toulnustouc River, a tributary of the Manicouagan River on the North Shore. The Lac Ste. Anne reservoir, as it will be called, will permit regulation and control of the flow of the Lower Manicouagan River.

Power plant construction recently completed and under way in Quebec is outlined at pp. 556-557.

**Ontario.**—The Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario is a corporate entity, a self-sustaining public enterprise endowed with broad powers with respect to the supply of electricity throughout the Province of Ontario. Its authority is derived from an Act of the Provincial Legislature passed in 1906 to give effect to recommendations of earlier advisory commissions that the water powers of Ontario should be conserved and developed for the benefit of the people of the province. It now operates under the Power Commission Act (7 Edw. VII, c. 19) passed in 1907 as an amplification of the Act of 1906 and subsequently modified from time to time (R.S.O. 1950, c. 281, as amended). In addition to administering the enterprise over which it has direct control, the Commission exercises certain regulatory functions with respect to the province-wide group of municipal electrical utilities which it serves.

The Commission may have from three to six members, all of whom are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. One commissioner must be, and a second commissioner may be, a member of the Executive Council of the Province of Ontario. In the conduct of the Commission's affairs, the commissioners are responsible for, and are the final authority in, establishing policy.

The basic principle governing the financial operations of the Commission and its associated municipal utilities is that electrical service is provided at cost. The Commission interprets cost as including payments for power purchased, charges for operating and maintaining the power systems, and related fixed charges. The fixed charges represent interest on debt, provisions for depreciation, allocations to reserves for contingencies and rate stabilization, and the further provision of a sinking fund reserve for retiring the Commission's capital debt. While the enterprise from its inception has been self-sustaining, the province guarantees the payment of principal and interest on all bonds issued by the Commission and held by the public. In addition, over a period of nearly forty years the province has materially assisted the development of agriculture by contributing half the capital cost of rural distribution facilities.

For the financial and administrative purposes of the Commission, the province is divided into two parts.\* The roughly triangular part of the province lying south of Lake Nipissing and the French and Mattawa Rivers is served by the Southern Ontario System, a fully integrated power network comprising the Niagara, Eastern Ontario and Georgian Bay Divisions. The part lying to the north is served by the Northern Ontario Properties, comprising the Northeastern and Northwestern Divisions. The Southern Ontario System is a co-operative system primarily serving a group of 325 municipalities receiving power at cost under contracts established according to the provisions of the Power Commission Act. The Northern Ontario Properties are not a co-operative system but the power facilities of its Northwestern Division serve a group of eight municipal utilities at cost. Apart from the supply of power to these cost-contract customers, the Northern Ontario Properties are held and operated in trust for the Province of Ontario. Each of the two northern divisions is an integrated power system. For purposes of administration the whole area served by the Commission is subdivided into nine regions.

<sup>\*</sup> Information relating to the establishment of the original administrative systems and to the consolidations leading to the present operating set-up is given in the 1957-58 Year Book, p. 580.